7 Types of Dog Breeds

190+ dog breeds are recognised by the American Kennel Club, which has divided them into 7 breed groupings depending on their original use.


Although each breed has a distinct look and personality, all dogs need to be trained in order to integrate into a household. Dogs from the same breed or breed group compete against one another.


Sporting dogs were developed to help hunters locate, flush, catch, or retrieve feathered prey. Each breed has a distinct speciality, and they are divided into spaniels, pointers, retrievers, and setters.

Sporting Group

The American Kennel Club established the Hound Group in 1930 to accommodate canines bred to seek warm-blooded prey. It includes a variety of breeds that use smell or speed to follow prey.

Hound Group

Small dogs from the toy group have been bred for company for ages. They have strong personalities and are affable, flexible, smart, gregarious, and enthusiastic. 

Toy Group

Diverse dog breeds that don't fall into other categories are included in the Non-Sporting Group. From French Bulldogs to Poodles, their purposes, sizes, and histories range widely, making it difficult to generalise about their characteristics.

Non-Sporting Group

For guarding and rescues, the Working Group dogs broke from the Non-Sporting Group. They pull sleds, watch over houses, and defend families because they are strong, smart, and resilient.

Working Group

German shepherds and border collies are examples of herding dogs that were developed to herd and guard cattle. They require a lot of exercise and mental stimulation and are very trainable and loving.

Herding Group

Terrier breeds were developed in the UK as security dogs and vermin hunters. They have a variety of physical characteristics to suit various hunting techniques.

Terrier Group

10 Dogs Cuter Than a Teddy Bear